Home Page

Our Governors

Welcome to the Governors' section.


Our Governors come from a range of backgrounds, and bring different areas of expertise to the school. Governors contribute to ensuring high standards of achievement for all children in the school.


On 5th May 2106, the Governing Body of the Churchill School reconstituted in line with the School Governance (Constitution) (England) Regulations 2012. There are up to 13 governors who sit on the school's Governing Body who are responsible for:


  • setting the school’s vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils;
  • overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.


A Governor’s role is to support and challenge the senior staff to continue to improve the school. It is largely a thinking and questioning role and Governors are not there to manage the school or do the jobs of school staff. Governors fulfil their role by regularly attending Governing Body meetings, providing strategic guidance and by asking probing and challenging questions of leaders within the school. They also undertake visits, serve on relevant committees and oversee the Headteacher’s performance management.




Name/Type of Governor Term of Office Register of Interests* Designated Role Attendance Record since Sept 2015
Mrs Zoe Stone n/a Headteacher  

5 of 5

CO-OPTED GOVERNORS appointed by the Governing Body
Miss Dorothy Douse

Ends 29/09/2017

4 years
Retired – KCC employee in Primary Education Performance management and Teaching 3 of 5
Mr Andrew Newport

Ends 10/03/2019,

4 years

Deputy Head,

Partner is a member of staff
SEND 4 of 5
Mr Les Palliser

Ends 05/05/2019

4 years

Hawkinge Town Councillor (Churchill Ward),

Chairman of the PTA
Vice-Chair, Finance, Progress and Impact 5 of 5
Mr Peter Mahoney

Ends 05/05/2020

4 years
NHS Chair of Governors 1 of 1
Ms Emilie Moffat

Ends 05/05/2020

4 years
Participation Field Officer for South East at British Horse Society   1 of 1
STAFF nominated/elected by staff
Mrs Tonya Ball

Ends 25/03/2018

4 years

School TA and

Centre Manager of the Hands On Assessment Centre

  4 of 5
PARENT nominated/elected by parents
Mr John Quinn

Ends 12/12/2018

4 years

QA Ltd.

2 children on roll
Safeguarding/Child Protection 5 of 5
Dr Lisa Thompson

Ends 20/09/2019

4 years

Director of Anglia Security Services Ltd,

2 children on roll

Progress and Impact 4 of 4
FOUNDATION GOVERNORS appointed by the Vicus Trust
 2 vacancies        
LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNORS nominated by the Local Authority and appointed by the Governing Body
1 vacancy        
Senior Leadership and Administration invited to meetings periodically
Mrs Zoe Stone   Deputy Headteacher   5 of 5
Mrs Gail Clifton   School Office Manager   0 of 5
Mrs Anne Wells   School Business Manager, 1 child on roll   1 of 5
FORMER GOVERNORS resigned since July 2015
Mr Grahame Ward Ended May 2016 Governor of St Peters CEP Folkestone and Valance School Local Authority Governor recommended by the LA appointed by the GB 0 of 5
Mrs Gloria Van der Woude Ended April 2016 none Foundation Governor appointed by the Vicus Trust 4 of 5
Mrs Barbara Shaw Ended March 2016 none Co-opted Governor appointed by the GB 5 of 5
Mr Russell Sauntry Ended March 2016 Director at the Amelix Group, 1 child on roll Foundation Governor appointed by the Vicus Trust, Chair of Governors appointed by the GB 4 of 5
Mr David McKivett Ended Nov 2015 Holiday Extras Foundation Governor appointed by the Vicus Trust, Vice Chair of Governors appointed by the GB 0 of 1
Mr Neil Newman Ended July 2015 none Parent Governor appointed by parents with children on roll n/a
Mr Stephen Smith Ended July 2016 none None, retired KCC employee 5 of 5


* Register of Interests currently under review.